Bug #40867

User-rights: Workspaces-settings though workspace-extension disabled

Added by Stefan Neufeind about 7 years ago. Updated about 4 years ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Should have
Assignee:
-
Category:
Backend User Interface
Target version:
-
Start date:
2012-09-12
Due date:
% Done:

0%

TYPO3 Version:
4.5
PHP Version:
Tags:
Complexity:
Is Regression:
No
Sprint Focus:

Description

Under rights for user/user-group (BE) there is a tab for "Mounts and workspaces". That even shows the ability to choose workspace-permissions when the workspace-extension is disabled.

By default the workspaces "Live" and "Draft" always "exist". But could those settings maybe only shown when the workspaces-modul is actually loaded? Or can those settings even be added to the mask dynamically by the workspace-extension itself (so it would not show unless that extension is loaded)?

History

#1 Updated by Gerrit Code Review almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Under Review

Patch set 1 for branch master of project Packages/TYPO3.CMS has been pushed to the review server.
It is available at http://review.typo3.org/35987

#2 Updated by Gerrit Code Review almost 5 years ago

Patch set 2 for branch master of project Packages/TYPO3.CMS has been pushed to the review server.
It is available at http://review.typo3.org/35987

#3 Updated by Mathias Schreiber almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Under Review to New
  • Is Regression set to No

#4 Updated by Riccardo De Contardi about 4 years ago

as far as I can remember, the "draft" workspace has been removed since 4.5
It is true that, even if the workspaces extension is disabled, the user and usergroup record has still the "Workspace permissions: edit live (online)" checkbox on the tab "Mounts and workspaces", which may be a bit confusing if there are no workspaces (this still happens on 7.6-dev (latest master)).
I see 2 possible solutions:

1) hide the checkbox if ext:workspaces is disabled
or
2) make the checkbox disabled if ext:workspaces is disabled

#5 Updated by Stefan Neufeind about 4 years ago

Or have that checkbox added to the dialog by EXT:workspaces itself? Imho that would be the clean way to decouple that EXT. (I'm aware it's still hard-wired in some other areas - but we'll have to start somewhere.)
I somewhat doubt though that this change is likely to land in 7 - more realistic for 8 then.

#6 Updated by Riccardo De Contardi about 4 years ago

of course! I wrote it badly :) I should have written "remove" instead of "hide"

Also available in: Atom PDF