Project

General

Profile

Actions

Bug #75063

closed

Epic #90674: Backend UI not reflecting permissions

Workspace-Preview for Non-Admin Users not working correctly for extbase content

Added by Arne Bippes about 8 years ago. Updated over 2 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Must have
Assignee:
-
Category:
Workspaces
Target version:
-
Start date:
2016-03-14
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
TYPO3 Version:
6.2
PHP Version:
5.4
Tags:
Complexity:
Is Regression:
No
Sprint Focus:

Description

First Scenario for a non admin user:
- User changes some extbase content within a workspace
- User changes a standard text only element
- he than creates a preview link and logs out

Expected behaviour:
- opening a page which uses the changed content shows the workspace changes for both elements
=> WORKING CORRECTLY

Second Scenario:
- before logging out the user switches back to the Live view

Expected behaviour:
- opening a page which uses the changed content shows the workspace changes for both elements
Actual behaviour:
=> STANDARD ELEMENT WORKING - the user sees the changed text-element
=> EXTBASE ELEMENT NOT WORKING - the user does not see the changed extbase content (he sees the live version content)

Third Scenario
- the user which created the preview link and still being in live mode is made admin
Expected behaviour:
- opening a page which uses the changed content shows the workspace changes for both elements
=> WORKING CORRECTLY

The conclusion is that once a User has left the Workspace where he has generated the preview link, extbase content is not selected from the workspace anymore. As an admin-user it works as expected.


Related issues 2 (1 open1 closed)

Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #61379: Workspace preview of single view page throws errorClosed2014-09-05

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #96621: Visiting the workspace preview of a page makes all pages "workspace version" even without the "?ADMCMD_prev=..." partNeeds Feedback2022-01-22

Actions
Actions #1

Updated by Helmut Hummel about 8 years ago

  • Target version deleted (6.2.18)
Actions #2

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 4 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback

This issue is very old and I apologize for the late answer;

Is it possible to have an example of this behavior?

I tried to reproduce it but I think I failed; I tried the following test

test environment

  1. TYPO3 9.5.13
  2. a "Draft" workspace has been created
  3. in LIVE workspace, create a "TEST" page with a text element in it
  4. installed EXT:news
  5. created a sysfolder, added some "news" elements (LIVE workspace)
  6. created a "NEWS" and a "DETAIL" page for displaying the news.
  7. there is an "editor" with access to all pages, sysfolder and the workspace.

test 1 procedure

  • log in with "editor", switch to Draft workspace
  • edit the element in "TEST" page, save and close
  • go to workspace module, go to "TEST" page, generate the preview link
  • switch back to LIVE workspace
  • log out
  • visit the preview link

test 1 result

  • the upper right corner shows that I am looking at a workspace preview
  • the workspace version of the element is shown

test 2 procedure

  • log in with "editor", switch to Draft workspace
  • go to sysfolder and edit a news element, edit the title and the text
  • go to workspace module, go to "NEWS" page, generate the preview link
  • switch back to LIVE workspace
  • log out
  • visit the preview link

test 2 result

  • the upper right corner shows that I am looking at a workspace preview
  • the list of news shows the workspace version of the news title
  • if I click on the news, the detail view shows the LIVE version

addendum

  • the behavior is the same if I repeat the tests with an admin user instead of editor user
  • the behavior is the same if the news plugin is configued for list/detail view on the same page
  • when I visit the news detail I am leaving the workspace preview so I think that the behavior can be considered correct

Is this the expected behavior? A different test is necessary?

Actions #3

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi about 4 years ago

  • Parent task set to #90674
Actions #4

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi almost 3 years ago

I've repeated the test done on my previous comment on TYPO3 10.4.19

test environment

  • TYPO3 9.5.13
  • a "Draft" workspace has been created
  • in LIVE workspace, create a "TEST" page with a text element in it
  • installed EXT:news
  • created a sysfolder, added some "news" elements (LIVE workspace)
  • created a "NEWS" page for displaying the news (configuration with single page).
  • there is an "editor" with access to all pages, sysfolder and the workspace.

test 1 procedure

  • log in with "editor", switch to Draft workspace
  • edit the element in "TEST" page, save and close
  • go to workspace module, go to "TEST" page, generate the preview link
  • switch back to LIVE workspace
  • log out
  • visit the preview link

test 1 result

  • the upper right corner shows that I am looking at a workspace preview (yellow box)
  • the workspace version of the element is shown

test 2 procedure

  • log in with "editor", switch to Draft workspace
  • go to sysfolder and edit a news element, edit the title,the teaser text and the text of the news record
  • go to workspace module, go to "NEWS" page, generate the preview link
  • switch back to LIVE workspace
  • log out
  • visit the preview link

test 2 result

  • the upper right corner shows that I am looking at a workspace preview (yellow box)
  • the list of news shows the workspace version of the news title and news teaser text
  • if I click on the news, the detail view shows the workspace version

addendum 1

the behavior is the same if I repeat the tests with an admin user instead of editor user; I also performed with the admin user the following tests:

test 3 procedure

  • log in with "admin user", switch to Draft workspace
  • create a new text element in "TEST" page, save and close
  • go to workspace module, go to "TEST" page, generate the preview link
  • switch back to LIVE workspace
  • log out
  • visit the preview link

test 3 result

  • the upper right corner shows that I am looking at a workspace preview (yellow box)
  • the workspace version of the page is shown, with the added text element

test 4 procedure

  • log in with "admin", switch to Draft workspace
  • go to sysfolder and create an additional news element, edit the title, the teaser text and the text of the news record
  • go to workspace module, go to "NEWS" page, generate the preview link
  • switch back to LIVE workspace
  • log out
  • visit the preview link

test 4 result

  • the upper right corner shows that I am looking at a workspace preview (yellow box)
  • the list of news shows also the news created in the workspace
  • if I click on the news, the detail view shows the detail page of the news (with the workspace version of course).

Addendum 2

  • as far as I have seen you can "leave" the workspace version by clicking on the "Stop preview" link in the yellow box
  • if you visit the live link of the page, you're still viewing the workspace version (I guess there's a cookie involved); you can view the live version by closing the session and start a new browser (for example).

is this test sufficient or a different one should be performed?

Actions #5

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to Closed

Based on the results of my last comment and since there hasn't been feedback since a long time, I close this issue for now.

There's an odd behavior left that I summarized in my comment on "addendum 2", for which I will open a new issue.

If you think that this is the wrong decision or experience this issue again or think that there is still work to do, please reopen it or open a new issue with a reference to this one.

Thank you.

Actions #6

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 2 years ago

  • Related to Bug #96621: Visiting the workspace preview of a page makes all pages "workspace version" even without the "?ADMCMD_prev=..." part added
Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF