Bug #17393

Hiding of own user should be not possible

Added by Georg Ringer almost 14 years ago. Updated over 8 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Should have
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
-
Start date:
2007-06-17
Due date:
% Done:

100%

Estimated time:
TYPO3 Version:
4.1
PHP Version:
4.3
Tags:
Complexity:
Is Regression:
Sprint Focus:

Description

It shouldn't be possible to hide the own user because then you are suddenly logged out.
I fully understand why the logout happens but I think there is no need for hiding the own user because of
- when is this the case? never!
- Beginners could get quite crazy -> "what should I do now" ... maybe a bad reason but still one I think of

What do you think?

(issue imported from #M5811)

#1

Updated by Franz Holzinger almost 14 years ago

Why? You have the install tool with which you can always add a new backend admin user.
Maybe you want to write a script to deactivate the backend user always for security reasons. And unhide it with a special script.

#2

Updated by Georg Ringer almost 14 years ago

Hello Franz,

ok that is true ... so forget this entry and/or delete it

#3

Updated by Sascha Egerer almost 14 years ago

But if you unhide it with a special script you can hide it with a special script too!
I think it make sense to hide the option for the own user record.

#4

Updated by Franz Holzinger almost 14 years ago

This should not be the default behaviour. It is possible to delete one's account even on other systems like LINUX and Windows.
But it could be realized for a special 'fool proof' settings, when security is not so important.
For security reasons the admins could be asked to deactivate their BE accounts by themselves when they are ready with their work. A reactivation would be done only on demand by the main admin.

#5

Updated by Martin Kutschker almost 14 years ago

Franz arguments convinces me. But perhaps the user should need to confirm the deactivation of his own account with JS confirm.

#6

Updated by Georg Ringer almost 14 years ago

yeah, a confirmation would be great and ok with me. text like "you will instantly logged out and user is disabled afterwards"

#7

Updated by Sascha Egerer over 13 years ago

yes! This is a good Idea ^^

#8

Updated by Georg Ringer over 8 years ago

  • Status changed from Accepted to Closed
  • Assignee deleted (30403)
  • Target version deleted (0)
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
#9

Updated by Simon Schaufelberger over 8 years ago

Georg, why did you close that? I thought about implementing an alert message that the user needs to confirm.

Also available in: Atom PDF