Project

General

Profile

Actions

Feature #20771

closed

Extension Manager only removes directory where extension is installed

Added by Jigal van Hemert almost 15 years ago. Updated over 7 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Could have
Category:
Extension Manager
Target version:
Start date:
2009-07-20
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
PHP Version:
5.0
Tags:
Complexity:
Sprint Focus:

Description

Installing an extension changes:
- directory + files of actual extension (these are removed)
- upload directory
- database tables and/or columns in existing tables
- settings in localconf.php
- translations of the extension from translation server

As far as I could determine only the first item is removed upon removing the extension. A lot of garbage can stay left behind.

(issue imported from #M11560)


Related issues 1 (0 open1 closed)

Has duplicate TYPO3 Core - Bug #17103: Deleted options from extensions remain in localconf.php when updating extension configurationClosedChris topher2007-07-24

Actions
Actions #1

Updated by Helmut Hummel over 12 years ago

  • Priority changed from Should have to Could have
  • Target version deleted (0)
  • TYPO3 Version set to 4.3
Actions #2

Updated by Alexander Opitz about 11 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback

The issue is very old, does this issue exists in newer versions of TYPO3 CMS (4.5 or 6.1)?

Actions #3

Updated by Jigal van Hemert about 11 years ago

  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to New

Yes, nothing has been changed with two new Extension Managers. Removing an extension still leaves all kinds of data behind.

Actions #4

Updated by Alexander Opitz about 11 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback

Hmmm removing the data may have side effects, files in upload folder can be linked somewhere, data of tables may be in use.

So should we export this data in a file before deleting (with user option)?

Actions #5

Updated by Alexander Opitz almost 11 years ago

  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to New
Actions #6

Updated by Jigal van Hemert almost 11 years ago

upload directory : does the core or do other extensions (not depending on the base extension) really use and link these files?
database records and extra columns : same question; I don't think the rest of the world knows how to access it, unless you have some TypoScript that queries a specific table.
settings in localConfiguration: these are definitely not used by other parts
translations : shouldn't be in use

These items may still be useful because you're only temporarily removing an extension. It might be useful to have an option in the confirmation dialogue when deleting an extension:
[_] Also remove settings, uploaded files, records and translations belonging to or generated by this extension.

Creating a backup also requires to make a feature that restores it.

Actions #7

Updated by Mathias Schreiber over 9 years ago

  • Target version set to 8 LTS
Actions #8

Updated by Nicole Cordes about 8 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback

IMHO it is not a task of the extension manager to clean up after an extension was removed. You can even see this as a feature to be able to restore all data and settings if you re-install the extension.

Actions #9

Updated by Alexander Opitz over 7 years ago

  • Assignee set to Jigal van Hemert

@Jigal van Hemert

Is it ok for you, to close this issue?

Actions #10

Updated by Jigal van Hemert over 7 years ago

  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to Closed
Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF