Handling deprecation log
The deprecation log is shown in the reports module. There has been a huge discussion whether or not the deprecation log should be turned on or of by default. I think it should be turned of because users are not interested in it at all. On the other hand if there is an easy way to deal with the deprecation log it is fine if it is turned on by default. Here are three suggestions for the deprecation log handling in the reports module to make it more user friendly.
1. Show the size of the deprecation log (if it is small you can leave it as it is)
2. Deactivate the deprecation log (at the moment you need to dive into the install tool and search for it to turn it off - in the text it is also suggested to turn it off when it gets to big)
3. Clear the deprecation log (especially when it is very large you might not want to waste that space)
(issue imported from #M16373)
Updated by Ingo Renner over 10 years ago
The discussion has been long, that's true, but IMO we agreed on having it on by default. That's the only way to allow us to stay backwards compatible and at the same time still remove old APIs.
1. is implemented in the status report already
2. and 3. are not in the scope of the reports module (or at least the system status report) as it is a pure informative module, only reading information.
I could see a report listing and analyzing the deprecation log though.
Updated by Alexander Opitz about 7 years ago
- Status changed from New to Needs Feedback
- TYPO3 Version set to 4.3
- Is Regression set to No
as #23489 is rejected, we should go forward here. As I can see point 1. and 2. is done, so clearing deprecation.log in install tool is the only thing left over.
Do I understand this correct?