Overwriting exiting database during install does not work
It sounds nice that existing data cannot be overwritten anymore... however, if it's intended and the database user is not allowed to create new databases, then one is lost after the first 10 seconds with TYPO3.Steps to reproduce:
- install TYPO3 CMS 6.2
- use user that has a database with data/tables
- you won't find the database in the list of "empty databases" - which is correct of course, but not helpful
Updated by Oliver Hader over 7 years ago
Markus Klein wrote:
A user usually has access to the database in another way (phpMyAdmin), at least I don't know a single hosting service that does not provide such an access.
The user can clean the DB there.
Well, I know a lot of them - and this is the origin of this issue as well
Updated by Ernesto Baschny over 7 years ago
- Assignee set to Christian Kuhn
- Target version set to 6.2.0
We discussed this in the release team today and decided that we will show the empty databases in the list where the user has access too, but leave them "unselectable" (maybe with a warning beside it = "Not empty") so that he at least has a chance to notice where the error is before wondering if there are permission issues in his DB setup.