Feature #20664

When updating an extension, archive the old version

Added by Ingo Renner over 12 years ago. Updated about 7 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Could have
Assignee:
-
Category:
Extension Manager
Target version:
-
Start date:
2009-06-24
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
PHP Version:
4.3
Tags:
Complexity:
Sprint Focus:

Description

Currently when updating an extension, the extension is overwritten.

Now it would be nice to have the old extension archived into a different directory (f.e. typo3conf/ext_archive)

Advantages:

  • making it possible to easily jump back to the old version if something is not working anymore
  • easily jump back if the admin didn't notice that the extension was changed and now stuff is not working anymore
  • in an update script it would be possible to determine which version of an extension was installed before and which actions need to be executed to update data and the like with minimal effort

(issue imported from #M11402)


Related issues

Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #28358: New update function does not warn prominently about locally changed filesClosed2011-07-21

Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF