Feature #61167

On deleting a pages_language_overlay record, its contents are not deleted

Added by Lorenz Ulrich almost 6 years ago. Updated over 2 years ago.

Status:
Rejected
Priority:
Could have
Assignee:
-
Category:
DataHandler aka TCEmain
Target version:
-
Start date:
2014-08-24
Due date:
% Done:

0%

PHP Version:
Tags:
Complexity:
Sprint Focus:

Description

In TYPO3, on deleting a page, every record associated with the page is also marked as deleted (see DataHandler::deleteSpecificPage).

Currently, if someone deletes a pages_language_overlay record, the contents/records in this respective language are not deleted. This can be destructing if the overlay is deleted and at a later point a new overlay is created. In this case, old/obsolete records show up.

I'm not sure if deleting the pages_language_overlay should delete only content elements related with the language or all records.

(BTW, the TCEmain category in Forge should be renamed to DataHandler :-)).

History

#1 Updated by Frank Naegler over 5 years ago

I know this behavior a long time, I delete first the records and then the overlay.

I'm not sure if deleting the pages_language_overlay should delete only content elements related with the language or all records.

when delete a language overlay, only in this language translated records should be deleted.

(BTW, the TCEmain category in Forge should be renamed to DataHandler :-)).

I think DataHandler to better known by TCEmain, maybe both names!?

#2 Updated by Lorenz Ulrich over 5 years ago

The conclusion of a discussion in Slack is this idea from Matthias Schreiber:

  • Confirmation on deleting a localization of a page: "You attempt to delete the language X of this page, do you want me to remove the contents of this language as well?"
  • Confirmation on adding a localization: "You added a language for this page. I have found content for this page that might be outdated. Do you want me to restore of discard this content?"

The majority of people involved in the discussion think that there should be no automatism, so the only cascading effect is that deleting a page (not the overlay) deletes its contents.

#3 Updated by Daniel Goerz about 4 years ago

  • Tracker changed from Bug to Feature
  • Priority changed from Should have to Could have

#4 Updated by Riccardo De Contardi almost 3 years ago

Still present in latest master, with both "translate" and "copy" mode

#5 Updated by Christian Kuhn over 2 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Rejected

this is a conceptual thing of the current DataHandler characteristics and can't be changed easily without a huge impact. data consistency in this area would need a new dedicated effort including a concept and works on the todos and can't be done with this single issue alone. i'm thus rejecting the issue for now - waiting for a broader concept on that.

Also available in: Atom PDF