Bug #21706

Broken rootline when previewing versioned pages (not workpaces)

Added by Thomas Rehhoff almost 12 years ago. Updated about 8 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Should have
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
-
Start date:
2009-11-26
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
TYPO3 Version:
4.3
PHP Version:
Tags:
Complexity:
Is Regression:
No
Sprint Focus:

Description

Hi team and thanks for your great work - I've found a nasty little critter here. Back in version 4.1 this issue was apparently fixed (see #0001893) but nevertheless this is still present in 4.2. and 4.3.rc1

Affected users: admins + non-admins

Problem:
1. Create a version of a page via the right click menus function "versioning" (not via the versioning-module)

2. You now see the currently active page and the versioned page below. Click on the preview icon for the unpublished page

3) Result: The requested page didn't have a proper connection to the tree-root! (Broken rootline)

(issue imported from #M12785)


Related issues

Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #23369: "Broken rootline" error after clicking document-view iconClosed2010-08-13

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #15215: Broken Rootline when a Editor view a Page that is not onlineClosedDmitry Dulepov2005-11-18

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #21670: "Broken rootline" error when editing a title in a versioned pageClosed2009-11-24

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #17816: Broken Rootline when a editor views a draft version in LiveworkspaceClosed2007-11-20

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #24376: Save and view triggers preview of wrong pageClosed2010-12-21

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Bug #21412: "No TypoScript template found!" Error when you use the Save&View Button on a new Version of a Page-RecordClosed2009-10-31

Actions
#1

Updated by Francois Suter almost 11 years ago

The issue is that the preview link points to the new version but TYPO3 is not aware that we are doing a versioning preview (it seems like it is aware of versioning preview only when the BE user is in a workspace). We could add such awareness, but I wonder if it's worth it. It would seem better to me to disable that feature entirely, so that people rely only on workspaces. AFAIK this is planned for 4.5, right?

#2

Updated by Francois Suter almost 11 years ago

Hi again,

I managed to improve the situation with a modified version of the patch I submitted for solving 0016794. By not testing if we are in a workspace, I can get the preview link to use the proper page id and avoid the broken rootline error. However the problem is then that the preview of the new version is wrong because the overlay is not triggered (because TYPO3 does not know that we are in a workspace).

Again I think it's planned to remove that feature for 4.5 to use only workspaces. Tolleiv can you confirm (I can see you in the monitoring users lists ;-)?

#3

Updated by Tolleiv Nietsch almost 11 years ago

well it's not planned to remove "version"ing features in 4.5 - but we tend to hide the versioning-features if "workspaces" is installed. therefore the resolution of this bug would still be needed in 4.5

#4

Updated by Francois Suter almost 11 years ago

Tolleiv, thanks for your feedback.

I took a second look at this issue and I think it's really difficult to solve. As far as I can tell, this bug must exist ever since workspaces were introduced. At that point, the normal preview mechanism was probably removed. The problem is that all preview functions are keyed to being in a workspace, so it's currently impossible to trigger a preview of a version from the LIVE workspace.

#5

Updated by Alexander Opitz over 8 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback
  • Target version deleted (0)

The issue is very old, does this issue exists in newer versions of TYPO3 CMS (4.5 or 6.1)?

#6

Updated by Alexander Opitz about 8 years ago

  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to Closed
  • Is Regression set to No

No feedback for over 90 days.

Also available in: Atom PDF