Feature #25381

Option to disable double listing of DB mounts

Added by Jean-Sébastien Gervais over 8 years ago. Updated about 4 years ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Should have
Assignee:
-
Category:
Pagetree
Target version:
-
Start date:
2011-03-23
Due date:
% Done:

0%

PHP Version:
5.2
Tags:
Complexity:
hard
Sprint Focus:

Description

If a user gets multiple webmounts from different usergroups it is possible that a webmount is a subpage from another webmount. Some editors are confused by having some pages doubled in their page tree.

As some integrators see the yet existing state as a feature, we should implement both and use an option.

I would like to see this option per webmount and with the ability in User TSconfig to change the behavior, this gives us the most flexible way of handling.

Original Request

With a user having multiple webmounts (from either multiple usergroups, or usergroup including another usergroup)

usergroup A) having access to the whole page tree, 
usergroup B) having only access to a specific subset of pages (DB mount B resides inside DB mount A) 

When displaying the page tree in the back end, could the core check if a db mount is within another webmount before displaying it, so pages within those two db mounts wouldn't be displayed twice ?

(issue imported from #M18021)

History

#1 Updated by Sebastian Müller over 8 years ago

  • Target version deleted (0)

I've seen this as a feature. In some big TYPO3-installations with a lot of sites I can so set another DB mount for a site branch I often use. So I don't have to (find and) go to this branch which may is some site levels under the site root.

Greets,
Sebastian

#2 Updated by Patrick Rodacker over 8 years ago

I've seen this as a feature. In some big TYPO3-installations with a lot of sites I can so set another DB mount for a site branch I often use. So I don't have to (find and) go to this branch which may is some site levels under the site root.

+1

IMO this is not a bug and the integrator has full control over the
configuration of webmounts.

#3 Updated by Stefan Galinski almost 8 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback

This behaviour is definitly intended. I can't imagine a useful use case for a configuration option or something else to implement this new behaviour. IMHO this one can be rejected if nobody vetoes against this in a reasonable time frame.

#4 Updated by Jean-Sébastien Gervais almost 8 years ago

No need to change the default behaviour of showing each db mounts the user has access to, despite if one is inside another, I was looking for a way to change that default behavior for some db mounts either by a checkbox on the record or through typoscript.

I understand the typical usage scenario is to create a db mount for every website root pages in a multisite envrionnement... In my scenario, I have editors that have access to multiple sites within a single instance of TYPO3; they help out other editors that only have access to their domains. Every domains also have different and access-limited groups for managing parts of the website (news, events, publications etc.

In my setup, to ensure everyone has access to what they should have, groups are divided in subgroups for what they can use, and other groups for where they can edit. Everything works well, but it's confusing for some editors to see the same pages/folders outside their main treeview, sometime more than twice, so I was looking for a «simple» way to hide those db mounts that are already included by another db mount. I understand I could refine and add more groups, but it's already complicated for some admins to manage and understand 20+ groups, with the default acl for the access module.

#5 Updated by Alexander Opitz over 6 years ago

Hi Jean,

I would vote to change this into a feature request with an option to change the behavior. Do you agree?

#6 Updated by Jean-Sébastien Gervais over 6 years ago

Yes, go ahead with a feature request. I suppose this kind of change can break other existing websites and it would be better to have some page tsconfig to enable this feature instead.

#7 Updated by Alexander Opitz over 6 years ago

  • Tracker changed from Bug to Feature
  • Subject changed from DB mounts within another DB mount displays some pages twice to Option to disable double listing of DB mounts
  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to New

#8 Updated by Mathias Schreiber almost 5 years ago

  • Category set to Pagetree
  • Target version set to 7.4 (Backend)
  • Complexity set to hard

#9 Updated by Susanne Moog over 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from 7.4 (Backend) to 7.5

#10 Updated by Benni Mack about 4 years ago

  • Target version deleted (7.5)

Also available in: Atom PDF