Bug #18507

extended clipboard: delete all selecte elements not only from the clipboard

Added by Martin Holtz about 11 years ago. Updated over 1 year ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
Should have
Assignee:
Category:
Backend User Interface
Target version:
Start date:
2008-03-28
Due date:
% Done:

100%

TYPO3 Version:
4.1
PHP Version:
5.2
Tags:
Complexity:
Is Regression:
No
Sprint Focus:
Stabilization Sprint

Description

the menu in the extended clipboard gives an option to delete the items form the clipboard.

but not only that items on the clipboard but the referenced items are deleted too.

there is an javascript warning, which says:
"Are you sure you want do delete ALL selected elements(1) on the clipboard?"
that is, what should happen there, the referenced items should not be deleted too - please:)

(issue imported from #M7951)

Associated revisions

Revision d957a3e5 (diff)
Added by Jan Helke over 3 years ago

[TASK] Add menu item to clear the clipboard

The make the clipboard more usable, this patch added another menu
item to clear the clipboard. Additionally the label and message
to delete elements is now more precise.
That duplicates the function of the red button with the X, but it
seems that this function was not clear for anyone.

Resolves: #18507
Releases: master
Change-Id: I6b06c6e6f1e45c61476c37b92fd52e1e7a9eae5d
Reviewed-on: https://review.typo3.org/44392
Reviewed-by: Michael Oehlhof <>
Tested-by: Michael Oehlhof <>
Reviewed-by: Frank Nägler <>
Tested-by: Frank Nägler <>

History

#1 Updated by Malte Jansen about 11 years ago

You can unselect the items from the clipboard.

Ok, the message should be changed...

#2 Updated by Martin Holtz about 11 years ago

the message is ok - it should do what the message says

at now, not the clipboard is cleared but the elements are really deleted from the list view (hidden=1)

that makes no sense - if i want to delete an element, i can do it directly.

And i can move them instead of copying.

No - that is an bug, not an feature.

#3 Updated by Alexander Opitz about 6 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback
  • Target version deleted (0)

The issue is very old, does this issue exists in newer versions of TYPO3 CMS (4.5 or 6.1)?

#4 Updated by Alexander Opitz over 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to Closed
  • Is Regression set to No

No feedback for over 90 days.

#5 Updated by Stefan Busemann over 5 years ago

The issue still exists in TYPO3 Version 4.5, 6.0, 6.1

#6 Updated by Chris topher over 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Closed to New

#7 Updated by Stefan Busemann over 5 years ago

Please reopen the issue

#8 Updated by Ernesto Baschny over 5 years ago

  • Category set to Backend User Interface
  • Status changed from New to Needs Feedback

This is not a bug, but maybe a misleading alert box? "Delete" is clearly not the same as "Clear" (which cleans up the items in the clipboard).

The current extended clipboard is a way to "manipulate" a set of records at the same time (i.e. to export them, delete them, edit them, copy / move them all at once). How should the "Delete" action be phrased to make that clearer in your opinion?

#9 Updated by Stefan Busemann over 5 years ago

Hi Ernesto,

yes that is the problem. The dialog is misleading.

Maybe we cloud do two things:

Add an element "clear clipboard" and change the js dialog to

Delete ALL selected elements on the clipboard!

The selected records will be deleted in the clipboard AND in the list view. 

Are you shure to delete them?

#10 Updated by Ernesto Baschny over 5 years ago

There is already an icon to clear the clipboard (the "x" besides the context menu). Maybe adding the "Clear" as a text to the select box would help differenciate the "Delete" from the "Clear", and maybe rephasing them: "Delete Records" and "Clear Clipboard".

#11 Updated by Stefan Busemann over 5 years ago

+1

#12 Updated by Martin Holtz over 5 years ago

Hi,

yes that is the problem. The dialog is misleading.

Maybe we cloud do two things:

Add an element "clear clipboard" and change the js dialog to

i do not understand, why it should be possible to delete items which i put on the clipboard? IMHO this is an usuability issue - from an editors view it makes no sense to put something on a clibboard and deleting it afterwards. You really think editors will work like that?

But perhaps i am wrong - an better message would be nice too...

btw.: does this issue needs feedback from me?

#13 Updated by Alexander Opitz over 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Needs Feedback to New

#14 Updated by Mathias Schreiber over 4 years ago

  • Target version set to 7.4 (Backend)

#15 Updated by Susanne Moog almost 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from 7.4 (Backend) to 7.5

#16 Updated by Benni Mack over 3 years ago

  • Target version changed from 7.5 to 7 LTS

#17 Updated by Mathias Schreiber over 3 years ago

  • Sprint Focus set to Stabilization Sprint

#18 Updated by Jan Helke over 3 years ago

  • Status changed from New to In Progress
  • Assignee set to Jan Helke

#19 Updated by Gerrit Code Review over 3 years ago

  • Status changed from In Progress to Under Review

Patch set 1 for branch master of project Packages/TYPO3.CMS has been pushed to the review server.
It is available at https://review.typo3.org/44392

#20 Updated by Jan Helke over 3 years ago

  • Status changed from Under Review to Resolved
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100

#21 Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Resolved to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF