Project

General

Profile

Actions

Bug #89678

open

After creating a new content element in page module or deleting one, scroll back to where I left

Added by Moritz Ahl over 4 years ago. Updated 27 days ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Should have
Assignee:
-
Category:
Backend User Interface
Target version:
-
Start date:
2019-11-13
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
TYPO3 Version:
12
PHP Version:
8.1
Tags:
Backend UI, edit content, backend usability
Complexity:
Is Regression:
Sprint Focus:

Description

Use case: As an editor, in the backend, I use the Page module to edit content on a long page with lots of content elements. I scroll down to some content element on say half of the page and edit it. Then I want to edit that same element again (because I forgot something, after checking the outcome in the frontend) or I want to continue with the element right below.

Currently: After having edited my element and clicking close or save, I am being redirected back to the top of the page module. That is really annoying because I have to search and scroll again until I find the element I was editing.

This could be easily improved as follows: After saving/closing a content element, I am being redirected back to the anchor / height of that element so that I can easily spot it again.


Related issues 4 (3 open1 closed)

Related to TYPO3 Core - Feature #79873: After closing/saving a record in the listview the viewport must scroll to last edited content elementNew2017-02-17

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Feature #75462: Retain scroll position after deleting/hiding a content elementNew2016-04-08

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Story #84364: As editor, I want to use D'n'D and work with less as possible page reloads to be more productiveClosed2018-03-16

Actions
Related to TYPO3 Core - Feature #78931: Use ajax in place of page refresh for more actions in the backendNew2016-12-09

Actions
Actions #1

Updated by Moritz Ahl over 4 years ago

  • Subject changed from After returning from editing a content element in page module, scroll back to where I left to After creating a new content element in page module, scroll back to where I left

Use case: As an editor, in the backend, I use the Page module to insert a content element on a long page with lots of existing content elements. I scroll down to some content element on say half of the page and insert an element below. Then I usually want to edit that same element again (because I forgot something, after checking the outcome in the frontend) or I want to do something with the element right below.

Currently: After having inserted / edited my element and clicking save, I am being redirected back to the top of the page module. That is really annoying because I have to search and scroll again until I find the place where I was.

This could be easily improved as follows: After saving a new content element, I am being redirected and scrolled back to the anchor / height of that element so that I can easily spot it again.

The feature exists for editing existing elements but not for creating new ones.

Actions #2

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 4 years ago

Is this a regression? see #70074

Actions #3

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 4 years ago

  • Related to Feature #79873: After closing/saving a record in the listview the viewport must scroll to last edited content element added
Actions #4

Updated by Moritz Ahl over 4 years ago

It seems so. Please note that the feature works for editing existing elements, but not for creating new ones.

(Actually what I really want as an editor is to create and edit elements without page reloads, but as long as we have them, returning back to the right content element is clearly the lower hanging fruit ;-)

Actions #5

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 4 years ago

@ Moritz Ahl thank you for your reply and clarification; then it is not a regression - if this does not exist yet for creating new content elements, do you mind if I change this issue to "feature"?

Actions #6

Updated by Moritz Ahl over 4 years ago

hmm #700074 description says "SHOULD: It should jump to the element I just edited or created". Since the ticket was closed I thought that it was implemented, so I considered it a bug. But anyway go ahead as you like :-)

Actions #7

Updated by Riccardo De Contardi over 4 years ago

I see your point. I'll keep it as it is
Best regards and thanks for your time.

Actions #8

Updated by Sybille Peters almost 4 years ago

  • Related to Feature #75462: Retain scroll position after deleting/hiding a content element added
Actions #9

Updated by Sybille Peters almost 4 years ago

  • Related to Story #84364: As editor, I want to use D'n'D and work with less as possible page reloads to be more productive added
Actions #10

Updated by Sybille Peters almost 4 years ago

  • Related to Feature #78931: Use ajax in place of page refresh for more actions in the backend added
Actions #11

Updated by Oliver Pfaff 12 months ago

  • Subject changed from After creating a new content element in page module, scroll back to where I left to After creating a new content element in page module or deleting one, scroll back to where I left
  • TYPO3 Version changed from 9 to 12
  • PHP Version changed from 7.3 to 8.1
  • Complexity deleted (easy)

This is a issue feels super annoying for editors and it's present over the last 3-4 TYPO3 LTS Versions. A lot editors (often also during training session) ask if this can be fixed. This behavior happens also when content is deleted.

If we setup a clean TYPO12 System and we add 3 Text Elements with 100 words lorem ipsum, the scroll jumps starts to happen, when we add new elements or delete some.
If you will delete the last 3 elements on a page with 15 elements you have to do a lot of scrollling and you have still to find the right place(refocus) if the content is not at the end.

I dont't think its a bug but it would be a great feature for the daily life of an TYPO3 Editor :)

Actions #12

Updated by Christoph Werner 4 months ago

Hi,

I was just about to open the same topic as a ticket, but came across this one. I can confirm what Oliver wrote, this is a point that is regularly addressed by customers. I'm currently doing some content work myself and the behavior is a real pain on pages with lot of content, both for newly created elements and for those to be deleted.
If we want to do something good for the editors, then we need to get this feature solved.

Many greeting,
Christoph

Actions #13

Updated by cosmoblonde GmbH 29 days ago

Hi,

is there any update on the status of this feature request?

Thanks for any info!

Actions #14

Updated by Sybille Peters 28 days ago

@cosmoblonde GmbH Some annoying scroll issues are improved by installing the extension scroll

(I cannot remember exactly which ones and if this is one of them, but it did improve the situation when I tested it a while ago).

Actions #15

Updated by Sybille Peters 28 days ago

  • Tags changed from Backend UI, edit content to Backend UI, edit content, backend usability
Actions #16

Updated by cosmoblonde GmbH 27 days ago

@Sybille Peters Thanks for this hint! It solves indeed our requirement for scrolling back to the last position when creating or deleting an element.

Actions

Also available in: Atom PDF